You are here: AU About Aarhus University  Technology Transfer Office Clinical Agreements

Clinical Agreements

Aarhus University Hospital

Aarhus University Hospital was established in 1990 in collaboration between the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Aarhus and the following hospitals in the then Counties of Aarhus and North Jutland, which are now Central Denmark Region and North Jutland Region:

  • Aarhus County Hospital (now Aarhus Hospital)
  • Aarhus Municipal Hospital (now Aarhus Hospital)
  • Skejby Hospital
  • The Psychiatric Hospital in Aarhus
  • The Psychiatric Hospital for Children and Adolescents
  • Aalborg Hospital
  • Aalborg Psychiatric Hospital

Aarhus University Hospital functions as the framework for all research collaboration that takes place between the hospitals of Aarhus University Hospital and the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Aarhus. Research conducted by Aarhus University Hospital is based on the principle that basic research, clinical research and clinical development are closely related. The Institute of Clinical Medicine at the Faculty of Health Sciences is responsible for the coordination of all research undertaken at Aarhus University Hospital. Similarly, the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Aarhus is responsible for the quality of research conducted at Aarhus University Hospital.


Aarhus Universitet

The guidelines described in this section cover agreements between private parties and Aarhus University Hospital. The guidelines are described in a common set of guidelines which have been approved by the Danish teaching hospitals. Increased collaboration between the private sector and teaching hospitals together with increased demand for commercialisation have made it expedient to adopt a set of common guidelines that benefit all parties involved. The terms and provisions for agreements between public research institutions and private parties pursuant to Section 3 of the Act on technology transfer, etc. at public research institutions are taken into account in the guidelines.

The Danish teaching hospitals including Aarhus University Hospital have established common guidelines for entering into research collaborations. The guidelines are available as a pdf-file. The objectives of the Danish teaching hospitals’ common guidelines are to:

  • Create openness and clear guidelines for the collaboration to the benefit of all parties involved
  • Be a tool supporting researchers and the management at the teaching hospitals when entering into agreements with private parties for research and development
  • Support the teaching hospitals in acting in a uniform manner when entering into agreements with private parties on the aspects of agreements covered by the guidelines
  • Assist in making it easier and clearer for private undertakings and other external parties to cooperate with the various institutions, and
  • Ensure that the teaching hospitals and the private sector cooperate on equal terms, where the services and considerations of the respective parties are balanced, and where the advantage of the collaboration to the parties match their contribution to the overall increased value of a project.

Source: ”Guidelines for Teaching Hospitals for Entering into Research Agreements”, December 2004.

Description of the procedure

All agreements concerning research collaboration including clinical trial agreements that involve employees at the University of Aarhus must be approved by the Institute of Clinical Medicine under the Faculty of Health Sciences. The Technology Transfer Office assists the Institute of Clinical Medicine with legal services. Therefore, it is the Technology Transfer Office that is responsible for the negotiation and process of clinical agreements. It is likewise the responsibility of the Technology Transfer Office that all agreements are in accordance with the guidelines of the Danish teaching hospitals. The procedure for clinical agreements including clinical trial agreements always starts with the agreement draft being sent to the Institute of Clinical Medicine.

Comments on content: 
Revised 02.12.2015